The Lady and the Highlander (A Highland Fairy Tale #3)

The Lady and the Highlander
The Lady and the Highlander by Lecia Cornwall

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

~ARC was given by the publisher, via NetGalley.~

The 3rd boo of the “A Highland Fairytale” series. We had Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, and now Snow White.

From the start of the book, it was quite intriguing. There were the elements of magic, and it sounded so mystical. I as read the book, I was like expecting some kind of Snow White type of story. However, I was surprise on the flow of the story.

It was good in a refreshing kind of way. Iain’s curse, was more likely a promise. And Laire? I like her. She is just like her father, fierce and loyal to her family. I wanted to hate Iain, but somehow, the way he tried his best to protect Laire shows what his true feeling.

I was truly amaze with Laire though. She may look like a fragile flower, but her skills with a knife is something that was mind blowing. I was actually laughing when Iain was caught.

The unexpected way this was written gave it a good story. The way the rest of characters were introduce was something else too.

Their love for one another was really good. He was afraid of what will happen to her, and he really did his best to protect her. However, as the daughter of the Fierce Laird MacLeod, she is more capable of withstanding any obstacles thrown in her way.

The ending? It was good. I love it.

I never liked reading fairy tales. For me it is a mite shallow and superficial. But the way Lecia Cornwall, re imagine them, with the Scottish touch, makes it interesting. The dept of the characters makes each story more believable than the ones we are used to.

I look forward to the next book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

