The Rock (Highland Guard #11)

This is one of the historical series that I follow. Why? because it’s a Scottish theme!!! and I just love reading about them! The brogue, the muscles…the attitude…they are just…magnificent!

I started reading this series around September of 2013. I got hooked on the story line. Not because of the history behind the book, but on the characters in it. Each of them were able to find the love of their lives. And the glimpse we are allowed to see per ending of the book is really something to look forward to.

However, this book, was not in the original set of characters. You have to read the whole series for you answer my question. And I assure you, he was something I wasn’t expecting…

~~~~~~~~~~

Book Description:

The first time he caught sight of Elizabeth Douglas, Thomas MacGowan thought she was a princess. To the son of the castle blacksmith, the daughter of the powerful Lord of Douglas might as well be. When it becomes clear that his childhood companion will never see him as a man she could love, Thom joins Edward Bruce’s army as a man-at-arms to try to change his lot. If he’s harbored a secret hope that he could close the gap between them, he faces the cold, hard truth when Elizabeth comes to him for help. She might need the boy who used to climb cliffs to rescue her brother from the hands of the English, but she would never see the son of a smith as a man worthy of her hand.rock

Publication Date: December 29th 2015 by Pocket Books(Kindle)& Ballantine Books (paperback)
Category: Historical Romance
Date Read: December 04, 2015
Rating: 4 Stars

 Announcement!

This book will be release on the 29th of December. Be sure to buy it!

 

~~~~~
I was permitted to read an ARC provided by NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books. Thank you for giving me a chance!

This is really an expected book for me in the whole series. I wasn’t able to comprehend why it was written, not until I read the latter part of the book. It was like ~oh-so-that-is-the-reason~ and it made sense. Thom fits in with the rest of the Guard as if he was there from the very start of the series, It was really nicely written.

As for the love story of the book, I wanted to scream in frustration! Thom’s feeling was out in the open from the very beginning, from the end. Yes, there were moments where in his anger was justified but, who can blame him? Given the situation, I would also be in such state. On Ella’s part, i can understand where she got the sense of duty she felt. During those times, it was really frowned upon, no wonder people during those times prefer duty over love, and the mistress and the illegitimate children…

That being said, the way Ella’s reasoning really did not bode well on me. She was a bit weak for me, and I guess I did not like how she tried to rationalize with her own emotions. I love how Thom words were written, they were so heartfelt that it was impossible not to fall for such a guy. The real shocking part about this book was Bruce nephew. He was such a good man. The same with Thom ability to climb. He was awesome!

All in all, the book was nicely put together. The plot still continues to and the Epilogue was slight different from the rest of the books in the series. I can’t wait to read the last book!

Thank you, Ms. Monica McCarty!

Leave a Reply

